Malta extends its Tax Treaty network

Malta enhances its Tax Treaty network with Uruguay, Mexico and Liechtenstein


The Double Tax Treaty (‘DTA’) between Malta and Uruguay, signed in March 2011, came into force. This is the first DTA to be signed with a South American country.

“This agreement with Uruguay signals the government’s intention to strengthen economic relations with South American countries and, hopefully, will lead the way to the conclusion of a number of double taxation agreements with other South American countries,” Finance Minister Tonio Fenech said.

Following this, Malta and Mexico also signed a Convention for Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on income. The Convention also provides for exchange of information on tax matters between the competent authorities of Malta and Mexico based on internationally agreed standards with a view to combating international tax avoidance and evasion.

Malta has also recently concluded negotiations on a DTA with Liechtenstein which is expected to apply from 1 January 2014.

All three DTAs largely follow the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development’s Model Convention.

For any further information about the above or any tax advice please contact Nicky Gouder on [email protected]